(September 1, 1998)

"Music, when soft voices die,
Vibrates in the memory;
Odors, when sweet violets sicken,
Live within the sense they quicken.
Rose leaves, when the rose is dead,
Are heaped for the beloved's bed;
And so thy thoughts, when thou art gone,
Love itself shall slumber on."
Just wanted to post a poem on here, to enlighten some of you folks who need enlightening. First, I apologize for not writing for a week. Or is it longer than that? Anyhow, not a lot has happened in the past week. I've been working diligently on my music, writing some poetry, and spending time with friends. Things I wasn't able to do a lot during the school year. Last week I went shopping with Brynn, and we both got our makeup done horribly by a woman who looked like she just got struck by lightning. So, we went to another makeup counter, called Philosophy, in the new Nordstroms at Westlake. This lady did a much better job, and she was so sweet and courteous, and she gave me some free samples. She also wanted me to come back sometime in October and model for her. I was extremely flattered! Imagine me, a paradigm of pulchritude, an apotheosis of pantheons. Okay, maybe not to that extent, but man, she really placated my ego! The next day, I got my pictures taken professionally by Michael Spiz's dad Zygmunt, since I hadn't gotten my senior pictures done yet. I think he did a pretty good job, and I can't wait to get the proofs back.
So, yesterday me, Adam, and Steve all went to the Evergreen State Fair in Monroe. It was a lot of fun, but it would have been better if Brianne was there. She couldn't go, because she had a family engagement she needed to attend to. We were a bit disappointed, but Brianne apparently had a better time than we thought she would. *grin*
Only two days of freedom left. My GAWD. I honestly didn't get as much done this summer as I thought I would have. There are so many goals I have yet accomplished. Suffice it to say, I wish I had made more time for myself. Things are changing so quickly. I mean-- my friends are changing, I am changing....Debbie got a bellybutton ring, and my gawd, Brianne got a new hot tub. And Adam Grupp got a job! Argh! I feel as though life is passing me by. I need to get a ticket to ride this indefatigable reality.

Love,
Joanna

Back